logo_ambach
3sterne
facebook_button
facebook_button
facebook_button
AKZENT Hotel Am Bach
Eichgasse 5
D-97337 Dettelbach
Phone: +49 (0) 93 24 / 9 73 00
E-Mail: info@hotelambach.de

Café Kehl

Family-Tradition

that you can taste...

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

You are here:

Startseite > Café Kehl > Muskatzine
Visit our Cafe Kehl
Our Speciality:
Muskatzine

muskatzine

To this very day the Muskatzinen are still manufactured only in Dettelbach- using a old recipe that is more than 100 years old. learn more...
To all Wellness- and Conference-Guests we recommend
hotel_franziskaner

AKZENT Hotel Franziskaner
Member of

Logo AKZENT Hotel Klasse fuer sich

CO2 Zertifikat

CO2 Zertifikat

Muskatzine

Our Speciality from Dettelbach

Until this day the real Muskatzinen are manufactured only in Dettelbach following an old recipe - just as it were 100 years ago. They are famous ever since and gourmets praise them as a delicious addition to Franconia.  

Urban Degen was the name of the Muskatzine's inventor, which respectable master of the guild of confectioners. The city of Dettelbach used to have numerous, because wax-chandler and confectioners used to have tradition. Since 1505 the pilgrimage  to the wonder-working picture of the Virgin Mary had been starting and there were golden times for this guild. The art of baking of the pastry chefs soon became the most elegant branch of this guild and achieved good sales. Master Urban Degen had great success with his Muskatzinen.One day, he offered a pastry that was totally different to the traditional ones he used to offer - extraordinary in it's taste and with a so far unknown shape. This howere, people could explain soon: Master Degen graved new baking forms up to sample to his ties, which he used to wear with pleasure.

cafe02cafe01cafe05

The ingredients of the dough and its composition he kept secret in life. Only the name revealed what could be tasted anyway: nutmeg (german = Muskat) played a grand part. The Muskatzinen gathered a broad popuarity and Urban Degen became a famous man. History reports that even the Bavarian King used to have a marked preference for this spice-pastry and granted him the exclusvie right to manufacture the Muskatzinen. Urban Degen however did not want to take his knowlege with him to grave - the Muskatzinen were supposed to outlive its inventor. Bevore his death he initiated his local colleauges with the secret of the recipe, but not without claming the promise to keep the original within the local pastry chefs. 

His inheritors kept their pledge and handed down the legacy only to their direct descendants. Therefore the Muskatzinen continued to be a speciality of Dettelbach. Today the patent-rights rest with the Dauenhauer family of Dettelbach's Café Kehl.

Admittedly there are various legends of the origination of the Muskatzinen. For example reported a knight of the Orient, that nutmeg lessens the consequences of plenty of wine. This effective medicine arrived at patry chef of Dettelbach via a pilgrim. The Muskatzinen finally came out of experiments in the bakery.

According to a poetic interpretation the honest master Urban Degen was given an enlightenment directly from heaven.

Something all versions have in common: pilgrimage, wine and Muskatzinen belong to Dettelbach just as an amen belongs to this article.

 

Gladly we ship the Muskatzinen to your home!

 

Download our  order blank right here.

 
 

 

kontakt_sidebar

AKZENT Hotel Am Bach
Eichgasse 5
D-97337 Dettelbach

Telephone: +49 (0) 93 24 / 9 73 00

Send us a message
Arrival / Directions

 

arrangements
Find all arrangements, that we can recommend you right here.

logo_ambach
3sterne
facebook_button
AKZENT Hotel Am Bach
Eichgasse 5
D-97337 Dettelbach

Telefon: +49 (0) 93 24 / 9 73 00
E-Mail: info@hotelambach.de

Cafe Kehl

Familientradition,

die man schmecken kann...

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)

Sie sind hier:

Startseite > Cafe Kehl > Muskatzine
Besuchen Sie unser Cafe Kehl
cafe_kehl
Unsere Spezialität:
Muskatzine

muskatzine

Noch heute werden die echten Muskatzinen nach altem Rezept nur in Dettelbach hergestellt, wie vor mehr als hundert Jahren... weiterlesen
Für Wellness- und Tagungsgäste empfehlen wir
hotel_franziskaner

AKZENT Hotel Franziskaner
Mitglied bei

Logo AKZENT Hotel Klasse fuer sich

CO2 Zertifikat

CO2 Zertifikat

Muskatzine

Unsere Spezialität aus Dettelbach

Noch heute werden die echten Muskatzinen nach altem Rezept nur in Dettelbach hergestellt, genau wie vor mehr als 100 Jahren. Sie sind seit langem weit über die Mainschleife hinaus bekannt und Feinschmecker rühmen sie als köstliche Beigabe zu Franken.

Urban Degen hieß ihr Erfinder, ein ehrbarer Meister aus der Zunft der Zuckerbäcker. Deren gab es in der Stadt Dettelbach mehrere, denn Wachszieher und Lebküchner hatten Tradition. Seitdem die Wallfahrt zum wundertätigen Marienbild in Gang gekommen war, anno 1505, blühten ihrem Handwerk goldene Zeiten. Die Backkunst der Konditoren wurde bald der vornehmste Zweig des Gewerbes und brachte gute Umsätze. Meister Urban Degen gelang mit seinen Muskatzinen der große Wurf. Eines Tages bot er neben althergebrachtem Zuckerwerk ein Gebäck ganz anderer Art an - ungewöhnlich im Geschmack und in bisher unbekannter Form. Dies wußten die Leute bald zu erklären: Meister Degen schnitzte die neuen Backformen nach dem Muster der gefälteten Krawatten, die er so gerne zu tragen pflegte.

cafe02cafe01cafe05

Die Zutaten des Teiges und dessen Zusammensetzung aber behielt er zu Lebzeiten als Geheimnis. Nur der Name verriet, was man ohnehin schmecken konnte, daß Muskat bei der Zubereitung eine Rolle spielte. Die Muskatzinen fanden allgemeinen Zuspruch und Urban Degen wurde ein berühmter Mann. Die Geschichte berichtet, sogar Bayerns König habe eine besondere Vorliebe für das Gewürzgebäck gewonnen und dem Urheber das alleinige Herstellungsrecht zugesprochen. Er wollte indes sein Wissen nicht ins Grab mitnehmen, die Dettelbacher Muskatzinen sollten ihn selbst überleben. Vor seinem Tode weihte er die ortsansässigen Berufskollegen in das Geheimnis seiner Rezeptur ein, nicht ohne vorher das Versprechen abzufordern, das Original unter den einheimischen Konditoren zu bewahren.

Seine Erben blieben diesem Gelöbnis treu und überlieferten das Vermächtnis jeweils nur an die direkten Nachfolger. So blieben die Muskatzinen eine Dettelbacher Spezialität. Die Patent-Rechte liegen heute bei der Familie Dauenhauer vom Dettelbacher Café Kehl.

Um die Entstehung der Muskatzinen ranken sich freilich auch mancherlei Legenden. So habe ein Ritter aus dem Morgenland die Erfahrung mitgebracht, daß Muskatgenuß die Nachwirkungen von reichlichem Weingenuß dämpfe. Diese probate Medizin sei einem Dettelbacher Konditor von einem Wallfahrer kundgeworden. Aus Versuchen in der Backstube wären schließlich die Muskatzinen hervorgegangen.

Nach einer dichterischen Deutung wurde dem braven Meister Urban Degen die Erleuchtung im Traum direkt vom Himmel her eingegeben.

Etwas haben beide Versionen gemeinsam: die Wallfahrt, der Wein und die Muskatzinen gehören zu Dettelbach wie das Amen zu diesem Bericht.

 

Gerne versenden wir die Muskatzinen auch zu Ihnen nach Hause!

Hier einfach unser Bestellformular herunterladen.

 
 

kontakt_sidebar

AKZENT Hotel Am Bach
Eichgasse 5
D-97337 Dettelbach

Tel.: +49 (0) 93 24 / 9 73 00

Nachricht schicken
Anfahrt / Wegbeschreibung

 

arrangements

Hier finden Sie Arrangements, die wir Ihnen empfehlen können.